A Ghost Story

Director: David Lowery.
Starring: Casey Affleck. Rooney Mara. USA 2017. 92 mins.


The latest film from acclaimed director David Lowery (Ain’t Them Bodies Saints, Pete’s Dragon) is a singular exploration of legacy, loss, and the essential human longing for meaning and connection. A white-sheeted ghost (Affleck) returns to his suburban home to console his bereft wife (Mara), only to find that in his spectral state he has become unstuck in time, forced to watch passively as the life he knew and the woman he loves slowly slip away. Increasingly unmoored, the ghost embarks on a cosmic journey through memory and history, confronting life’s ineffable questions and the enormity of existence. An audacious, unforgettable meditation on the passage of time, A Ghost Story emerges ecstatic and surreal – a wholly unique experience that lingers long after the credits roll.

Contains infrequent strong language, images of dead bodies.

General admission screenings

Wed 23rd Aug
21.30
Thu 24th Aug
19.00 21.30
Fri 25th Aug
16.10 20.30 22.50
Sat 26th Aug
16.10 20.30 22.50
Sun 27th Aug
16.30 21.00
Mon 28th Aug
16.30 21.00
Tue 29th Aug
14.15 16.20
Wed 30th Aug
17.00 21.30
Thu 31st Aug
21.40

Club and Group screenings

Thu 24th Aug 12.20 Silver Screen: Aged over 60? Join the Silver Screen Club for discounted tickets and a free tea or coffee at these shows. Usual ticket prices apply to non-Members.
Thu 31st Aug 14.20 Silver Screen: Aged over 60? Join the Silver Screen Club for discounted tickets and a free tea or coffee at these shows. Usual ticket prices apply to non-Members.
Tue 24th Oct 18.30 Discover Tuesdays: Discover stunning cinema. Whether it's a cult classic, an art-house gem or a riveting documentary, there will always be a chance to see something different and brilliant in our weekly slot.



Back to top