I Am Not Your Negro

Director: Raoul Peck. Featuring: James Baldwin. France/USA 2016. 94 mins.

With unprecedented access to James Baldwin’s original work, award-winning filmmaker Raoul Peck has completed the cinematic version of the book Baldwin never wrote – a radical narration about race in America that tracks the lives and assassinations of Baldwin’s friends, Martin Luther King Jr., Malcolm X and Medgar Evers. By confronting the deeper connections between the lives and assassinations of these three men, we uncover a larger narrative of America’s historical and current denial and irrational relationship with race. Whilst it is partly anchored in the struggle for equality in the ’50s and ’60s, I Am Not Your Negro is about what it means to be black in America today.

General admission screenings

Wed 26th Apr
16.00
Fri 28th Apr
18.15
Sat 29th Apr
16.00 18.15
Sun 30th Apr
17.10
Mon 1st May
17.10
Tue 2nd May
18.15
Wed 3rd May
18.15
Thu 4th May
18.15

Club and Group screenings

Tue 25th Apr 16.00 Silver Screen: Aged over 60? Join the Silver Screen Club for discounted tickets and a free tea or coffee at these shows. Usual ticket prices apply to non-Members.
Thu 27th Apr 16.00 Silver Screen: Aged over 60? Join the Silver Screen Club for discounted tickets and a free tea or coffee at these shows. Usual ticket prices apply to non-Members.
Tue 16th May 18.00 Discover Tuesdays: Discover stunning cinema. Whether it's a cult classic, an art-house gem or a riveting documentary, there will always be a chance to see something different and brilliant in our weekly slot. Picturehouse Docs: Bringing you the best in new and topical documentaries covering issues around the world.



Back to top