The Party

Director: Sally Potter.

Starring: Patricia Clarkson, Bruno Ganz, Cherry Jones, Emily Mortimer, Cillian Murphy, Kristin Scott Thomas, Timothy Spall. UK 2017. 71 mins.


Janet (Scott Thomas) has just been appointed to a key ministerial position in the shadow cabinet – the crowning achievement of her political career. She and her husband Bill (Spall) plan to celebrate this with a few close friends. As the guests arrive at their home in London, the party takes an unexpected turn when Bill suddenly makes some explosive revelations that take everyone present by surprise. What follows is a hilarious comedy of tragic proportions in which love, friendships and political convictions are soon called into question. From acclaimed British filmmaker Sally Potter, The Party is a smart, fast-paced film full of razor-sharp one-liners that perfectly suits these turbulent times.

General admission screenings

Tue 24th Oct
18.30 20.10
Wed 25th Oct
16.00 21.15
Thu 26th Oct
13.10 16.00 21.15
Fri 27th Oct
14.25 18.50
Sat 28th Oct
14.10
Sun 29th Oct
14.10
Mon 30th Oct
14.10 18.40
Tue 31st Oct
13.45
Wed 1st Nov
14.10
Thu 2nd Nov
14.10

Club and Group screenings

Tue 24th Oct 13.10 Silver Screen: Aged over 60? Join the Silver Screen Club for discounted tickets and a free tea or coffee at these shows. Usual ticket prices apply to non-Members.
Tue 24th Oct 16.10 Silver Screen: Aged over 60? Join the Silver Screen Club for discounted tickets and a free tea or coffee at these shows. Usual ticket prices apply to non-Members.
Wed 25th Oct 13.10 HOH Subtitled: This screening has subtitles for people with hearing loss
Thu 26th Oct 18.30 HOH Subtitled: This screening has subtitles for people with hearing loss



Back to top